Myfanwy Theatre has delivered a series of diverse performances, that has included
the likes of: Welsh National Opera, Amy Wadge, UK Subs, The Amigos, Les Miserables,
Tanja Råman, Fire Down Below, A Kind of Queen and many more.|
Chapel Row is a fine example of a typical ironworker's cottage.|
Built in the
1820's for the workers of the Cyfarthfa Ironworks, the cottage was the birthplace
in 1841 of Joseph Parry, Wales best known composer.
His much loved 'Myfanwy'
is still a favourite of Welsh Male Voice Choirs to this day.
The interior of
the cottage is set in the 1840's, and shows the living conditions of the ironworkers
at the time when Parry was a young boy. Upstairs galleries display an exhibition
about his life and work, and a small section which provides additional information
on Merthyr Tydfil's industrial past.
by Richard Lugar for the Crawshay family, the Castle was built in a year (1824-25)
at a cost of £30,000, and has been a museum and school since 1910. Refurbished
in 1992, to show its original Regency splendour, the building itself is well worth
coming to see.
The entrance hall has a curiously Mock Tudor feel, planned to
give the illusion of an ancient family home. The small shields around the frieze,
the tall pillars around the windows, huge Gothic doors and the superb red and
clear glass windows that fill the rear of the hall, all add to the imposing grandeur.
The ceiling depicts the white rose of Yorkshire, the original home of the Crawshay
The atmospheric basement galleries are housed in what were once the
wine cellars. They were refurbished in 1990 to create a gallery portraying 3000
years of the history of Merthyr Tydfil. Topics covered here include the martyrdom
of Tydfil, the daughter of a local tribesman. The town takes its name from this
Celtic saint, who was murdered by Pictish invaders whilst praying. The exhibitions
move on to look at the farming history of the area, with a typical Welsh kitchen
and dairy on display. The development of the iron industry is an important topic,
with displays on the four major ironworks, Cyfarthfa, Dowlais, Penydarren and
Plymouth. The living conditions for immigrants to the town are also explored with
information about overcrowding and disease.
The story of Richard Trevithick's
steam locomotive unfolds here too. It was the first locomotive ever to pull a
load along rails. The engine was built at the Penydarren ironworks in 1804, 20
years before Stephenson's Rocket.
The political history of the County Borough
is covered, with a look at the Merthyr Rising of 1831, and Dic Penderyn's prison
cell. The development of the Labour movement is also portrayed on a series of
Town Centre Skate park
skate park has been funded jointly by Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council and
the Welsh Assembly Government Heads of the Valleys Programme.
by Maverick Industries who are one of the leading skate park design and build
specialists in the UK.
One of the largest facilities in Wales, including ramps,
bowls and street features.
The park can be used for skateboards, roller blades
and BMX Bikes.
For further information please contact us :
are two venues with public swimming pools available in the Merthyr Tydfil County
Borough. Both Merthyr Tydfil Leisure Centre and Aberfan & Merthyr Vale community
centre offer a varied swimming programme there is something for all the family;
host children's pool parties, take part in a aqua aerobics fitness class or learn
to swim in our junior & adult swimming lessons.
Merthyr Tydfil Leisure
Tydfil Leisure Centre opened its doors to the public at the end of October 2008,
this state-of-the-art Leisure Centre is considered one of the UK's most well-equipped.
Situated within the Merthyr Tydfil Leisure Village the centre offers a wide
range of facilities and activities, suitable for all ages and abilities: -
64 Station fitness suite
" Free Weights room
" 'Boxing Area' with
Punch bag and Speedball Equipment
" 25m x 13m , 6 lane, Competition size
rectangular deck level pool
with electronic scoreboard and spectator gallery
13m x 9m Learner pool
" 13 x 9m Free form leisure pool with flume and
" 8 Badminton court main hall/multi purpose room
3 Glass backed squash courts
" Dance studio/practice hall
suite (sauna/steam/spa pool/ relaxation area)
" Café / Bar
Multi purpose room (Gymnastic Hall)
We strive to cater for all ability groups
and most facilities within the building are accessible by wheelchair. If you have
any special requirements and would like to use any of the facilities please call
us ahead of your arrival and we will do our best to assist you.
Outdoor Education Centre
within the Brecon Beacons National Park Dolygaer Outdoor Education Centre has
to offer a wide variety of interesting and exciting land and water based activities
in a unique and picturesque location. Qualified and experienced instructors provide
education through involvement in various adventure pursuits. Dolygaer also provides
accommodation facilities for those wishing to stay over night and to explore the
beauty and diversity of the area. There are both camping and bunkhouse facilities.
The centre can also be used as a base for School groups, youth groups and those
involved in the Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme for expeditions and training.|
Dolygaer Outdoor Education Centre
Return to Front Page